Genetics, Epigenetics and Genomics

The rise of affordable sequencing technologies is revolutionizing all areas of biology. This is most evident in the areas of areas of genetics, epigenetics, and genomics, where a number of faculty across the school of biological sciences and the medical school use genome-wide techniques to study gene regulation in development and disease, comparative genomics, the connection of epigenetic changes to metabolism, and cellular decision-making. Participants in this track benefit from interactions with students and faculty from UCI’s strong systems biology and modeling program as well as from workshops organized by the UCI Genomics High Throughput Facility.

The Genetics, Epigenetics, and Genomics program at UCI provides research training on the latest genome-wide techniques to study protein-DNA interactions, RNA expression, open chromatin, and long-range interaction in functional genomics, and personalized medicine. Students from this track will take graduate coursework in genetics and genomics while rotating through multiple laboratories to indentify research topics of interest to them, which can span all of the areas of the CMB program in cell, developmental, cancer, immunology, and genetics with the emphasis on genome-wide analysis projects.

Focus Area Coordinator:  Ali Mortazaviali.mortazavi@uci.edu

 

  • Steve Allisonallisons@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Microbial enzymes, theoretical ecology, and biogeochemistry.
  • Bogi Andersen, bogi@uci.edu Ph.D., Professor of Medicine and Biological Chemistry
    Transcriptional regulation in the developmental biology of epidermis and mammary gland
  • Tallie Z. Baram, tallie@uci.edu, M.D., Ph.D, Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology and Physiology & Biophysics
    Epigenetic mechanisms in brain plasticity; stress, epilepsy, learning and memory
  • Emiliana Borrelli, borrelli@uci.edu Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    Dopaminergic system and glial cells in CNS development
  • J. Jay Gargus, jjgargus@uci.edu, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Physiology & Biophysics and Pediatrics
    Molecular analysis of membrane signaling proteins
  • Brandon Gautbgaut@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Population genetics, molecular evolution, genome evolution.
  • Klemens Hertel, khertel@uci.edu Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    Regulation of gene expression by alternative splicing
  • Haoping Liuh4liu@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry
    MAP kinase signal transduction; dimorphic regulation in yeast.
  • Jennifer B.H. Martinyjmartiny@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Diversity, evolution, and functioning of microbial communities (microbiomes).
  • Ali Mortazavi, ali.mortazavi@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology
    Applications of genomics, computation, and sequencing technologies to the analysis of transcriptional regulation in development.
  • R. Michael Mulligan, rmmullig@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    RNA editing in plant mitochondria and chloroplast
  • Feng Qiao, qiao@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Telomeres & telomerase and their roles in cancer and stem cell diseases; Structural, biochemical and molecular genetic analyses of nucleoprotein assemblies
  • Jose M. Ranzjranz@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Functional and comparative genomics; Evolution of the expression network; Speciation.
  • Suzanne B. Sandmeyer, sbsandme@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Molecular genetics of a position-specific yeast retrovirus-like element
  • Paolo Sassone-Corsi, psc@uci.edu Ph.D., Distinguished Professor and Chair of Pharmacology
    Mechanisms of gene expression and epigenetics
  • Yongsheng Shi, yongshes@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    The role of post-transcriptional gene regulation in stem cells and cancer
  • Sha Sun, shasun@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology
    Long noncoding RNAs in epigenetic programming
  • Ping Wang, phwang@uci.edu, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Biological Chemistry, Physiology & Biophysics, and Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Molecular hormone actions in diseases and stem cells
  • Katrine Whiteson, katrine@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
    Metagenomics, metabolomics and community culture models of host-associated microbial and viral communities in health and disease; human microbiome; microbial ecology.
  • Zeba Wunderlich, zeba@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Developmental and Cell Biology
    Experimental and computational approaches to understanding regulatory DNA in animals.
  • Xiaohui Xie, xhx@ics.uci.edu Ph.D., Professor of Computer Science and Developmental & Cell Biology
    Computational biology, bioinformatics, and genomics
  • Qin Yang, qiny3@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine and Physiology & Biophysics
    Cellular and molecular mechanisms for insulin resistance and energy expenditure in obesity and type 2 diabetes
  • Kyoko Yokomori, kyokomor@uci.edu Ph.D., Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Molecular mechanisms of chromosome dynamics and gene regulation
  • Michael Zaragoza,,mzaragoz@uci.edu M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biological Chemistry and Pediatrics
    Molecular mechanisms of inherited cardiovascular diseases

 

Faculty – Secondary Affiliation

  • Claudia Benaventeclaudia.benavente@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology
    Understanding epigenetic deregulation in pediatric cancer tumorigenesis
  • Bruce Blumberg, blumberg@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Developmental and Cell Biology
    Gene regulation by nuclear hormone receptors in vertebrate development and adult physiology
  • Anne L. Calof, alcalof@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology and Developmental & Cell Biology
    Regulation of stem cells in development and regeneration; genomic strategies for understanding the etiology and treatment of human neurodevelopmental disorders using transgenic mouse models
  • Jefferson Y. Chan, jchan@uci.edu, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Regulation of genes associated with oxidative stress
  • Xing Dai, xdai@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Skin and mammary stem cells, Wnt signaling, chromatin, transcription
  • Robert Edwards , redwards@uci.edu M.D., Ph. D., Associate Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, In Residence
    Pathogenesis of inflammatory bowel disease
  • Peter Kaiser, pkaiser@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Chemistry
    Cell cycle control; regulation of proteins by ubiquitination
  • Selma Masrismasri@uci.edu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Biological Chemistry
    Cancer Biology, Circadian Rhythms, Epigenetics and Metabolism.
  • Leslie M. Thompson, lmthomps@uci.edu, Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Biological Chemistry
    Molecular and biochemical mechanisms of disease pathogenesis and therapeutic approaches to human neurodegenerative disease
  • Rahul Warrior, rwarrior@uci.edu, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology
    Developmental regulation of proteoglycan biosynthesis; Transcriptional response to BMP growth factor signaling