The rise of affordable sequencing technologies is revolutionizing all areas of biology. This is most evident in the areas of areas of genetics, epigenetics, and genomics, where a number of faculty across the school of biological sciences and the medical school use genome-wide techniques to study gene regulation in development and disease, comparative genomics, the connection of epigenetic changes to metabolism, and cellular decision-making. Participants in this track benefit from interactions with students and faculty from UCI’s strong systems biology and modeling program as well as from workshops organized by the UCI Genomics High Throughput Facility.

The Genetics, Epigenetics, and Genomics program at UCI provides research training on the latest genome-wide techniques to study protein-DNA interactions, RNA expression, open chromatin, and long-range interaction in functional genomics, and personalized medicine. Students from this track will take graduate coursework in genetics and genomics while rotating through multiple laboratories to indentify research topics of interest to them, which can span all of the areas of the CMB program in cell, developmental, cancer, immunology, and genetics with the emphasis on genome-wide analysis projects.

 

  • Steve Allisonallisons@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Microbial ecology, modeling, and global environmental change
  • Bogi Andersen, bogi@uci.edu, Medicine and Biological Chemistry
    Transcriptional regulation in the developmental biology of epidermis and mammary gland
  • Tallie Z. Baram, tallie@uci.edu, Physiology & Biophysics and Anatomy & Neurobiology
    Epigenetic mechanisms in brain plasticity; stress, epilepsy, learning and memory
  • Emiliana Borrelli, borrelli@uci.edu, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    Dopaminergic system and glial cells in CNS development
  • Adriana Briscoeabriscoe@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology.
    Evolution of sensory systems
  • J.J. Emersonjje@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Evolutionary genomics, population genetics, evolution of genetic novelty, natural genetic variation, structural genetic variation
  • Brandon Gautbgaut@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Population genetics, molecular evolution, genome evolution.
  • Klemens Hertel, khertel@uci.edu, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    Regulation of gene expression by alternative splicing
  • Todd Holmestholmes@uci.edu, Physiology & Biophysics
    Phototransduction, non-image forming vision, circadian biology, voltage-gated potassium channels, neural circuit analysis, and behavior
  • Autumn S. Ivyaivy@uci.edu, Physiology & Biophysics
    Role of exercise-induced chromatin modifications in brain plasticity and neural function, early-life periods of brain maturation
  • Haoping Liuh4liu@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    MAP kinase signal transduction; dimorphic regulation in yeast
  • Anthony Longtdlong@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
     Population genetics, the genetics of complex traits, the genetics of adaptation, and bioinformatics
  • Jennifer B.H. Martinyjmartiny@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Diversity, evolution, and functioning of microbial communities (microbiomes)
  • Ali Mortazavi, ali.mortazavi@uci.edu, Developmental & Cell Biology
    Applications of genomics, computation, and sequencing technologies to the analysis of transcriptional regulation in development
  • R. Michael Mulligan, rmmullig@uci.edu, Developmental & Cell Biology and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    RNA editing in plant mitochondria and chloroplast
  • Feng Qiao, qiao@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Telomeres & telomerase and their roles in cancer and stem cell diseases; Structural, biochemical and molecular genetic analyses of nucleoprotein assemblies
  • Jose M. Ranzjranz@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Functional and comparative genomics; Evolution of the expression network; Speciation.
  • Suzanne B. Sandmeyer, sbsandme@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Molecular genetics of a position-specific yeast retrovirus-like element
  • Paolo Sassone-Corsi, psc@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Mechanisms of gene expression and epigenetics
  • Marcus Seldin, mseldin@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Systems genetics approaches to understand metabolism and physiology with a special emphasis on mechanisms of tissue-tissue communication
  • Yongsheng Shi, yongshes@uci.edu, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
    The role of post-transcriptional gene regulation in stem cells and cancer
  • Sha Sun, shasun@uci.edu, Developmental & Cell Biology
    Long noncoding RNAs in epigenetic programming
  • Kevin Thorntonkrthorn@uci.edu, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    Population genetics, quantitative genetics, and computational biology
  • Ping Wang, phwang@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry, Physiology & Biophysics, and Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Molecular hormone actions in diseases and stem cells
  • Katrine Whiteson, katrine@uci.edu, Molecular Biology & Biochemistry
    Metagenomics, metabolomics and community culture models of host-associated microbial and viral communities in health and disease; human microbiome; microbial ecology.
  • Zeba Wunderlich, zeba@uci.edu, Developmental and Cell Biology
    Experimental and computational approaches to understanding regulatory DNA in animals.
  • Xiaohui Xie, xhx@ics.uci.edu, Computer Science and Developmental & Cell Biology
    Computational biology, bioinformatics, and genomics
  • Qin Yang, qiny3@uci.edu, Medicine and Physiology & Biophysics
    Cellular and molecular mechanisms for insulin resistance and energy expenditure in obesity and type 2 diabetes
  • Kyoko Yokomori, kyokomor@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Molecular mechanisms of chromosome dynamics and gene regulation
  • Michael Zaragoza,,mzaragoz@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry and Pediatrics
    Molecular mechanisms of inherited cardiovascular diseases

Faculty – Secondary Affiliation

  • Kevin Beierkbeier@uci.edu, Physiology & Biophysics
    Identifying how experience modulates activity dynamics in neural circuits, both acutely and chronically
  • Claudia Benaventeclaudia.benavente@uci.edu, Professor of Developmental & Cell Biology
    Understanding epigenetic deregulation in pediatric cancer tumorigenesis
  • Bruce Blumberg, blumberg@uci.edu, Developmental and Cell Biology
    Gene regulation by nuclear hormone receptors in vertebrate development and adult physiology
  • Anne L. Calof, alcalof@uci.edu, Anatomy & Neurobiology and Developmental & Cell Biology
    Regulation of stem cells in development and regeneration; genomic strategies for understanding the etiology and treatment of human neurodevelopmental disorders using transgenic mouse models
  • Ken W.-Y. Cho, kwcho@uci.edu, Developmental & Cell Biology
    Transcriptomic and epigenomic analysis in early vertebrate development
  • Jefferson Y. Chan, jchan@uci.edu, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
    Regulation of genes associated with oxidative stress
  • Xing Dai, xdai@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Skin and mammary stem cells, Wnt signaling, chromatin, transcription
  • Robert Edwards , redwards@uci.edu, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, In Residence
    Pathogenesis of inflammatory bowel disease
  • Peter Kaiser, pkaiser@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Cell cycle control; regulation of proteins by ubiquitination
  • Selma Masrismasri@uci.edu, Biological Chemistry
    Cancer Biology, Circadian Rhythms, Epigenetics and Metabolism.
  • Leslie M. Thompson, lmthomps@uci.edu, Psychiatry and Biological Chemistry
    Molecular and biochemical mechanisms of disease pathogenesis and therapeutic approaches to human neurodegenerative disease
  • Rahul Warrior, rwarrior@uci.edu, Developmental & Cell Biology
    Developmental regulation of proteoglycan biosynthesis; Transcriptional response to BMP growth factor signaling